Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Other Categories in Performing Arts

Part Time DJ Program

at Scratch DJ Academy - Sawtelle

(14)
Course Details
Price:
$4,999 8 seats left
Start Date:
Location:
Sawtelle, Westside
2324 Cotner Ave
Btwn Tennessee Ave & W Pico Blvd
Los Angeles, California 90064
(Map)
Purchase Options
Description
Class Level: All levels
Age Requirements: 18 and older
Average Class Size: 14

What you'll learn in this dj class:

The Part Time Program is designed for beginner students committed to becoming a working DJ Producer. The Program includes training in a variety of mixing, scratching, and music production techniques.

Curriculum consists of 8 Levels. Part Time Program students meet once a week for an average completion time of 1 year. Class sizes are small and contribute to a collaborative setting. Students keep the same day and time throughout the program to keep scheduling conflicts to a minimum.

Level I: Intro to DJing - Learn the Basics

Level 1 is the perfect starting point for anyone looking to learn to DJ. Our hands-on instruction will teach you the fundamentals of mixing, blending, and scratching. No matter your music tastes or commitment level, DJ 101 will teach you the fundamentals to get started on your journey. We provide all gear necessary for the class.

You will learn:
  • DJ history
  • Basic music theory & song structure
  • Ins & outs of equipment (turntables, mixers, speakers, etc.)
  • Basic scratching & timing

Level II: Intermediate Mixing

Now that you have the fundamentals down from Level 1, it’s time to put those skills to work. Learn to mix seamlessly between all genres of music and gain a better understanding of when and how to utilize transitions. At the end of the course, you will perform a 10-minute set that will showcase what you have learned.

You will learn:
  • Construct and perform a 10-minute mix with correct phrasing and solid manual beat matching
  • Understand Key Mixing and the Camelot system
  • Learning how to record your set within software
  • Understanding how to set cue points and why they are crucial
  • Creating playlists/crates and understanding file organization

Level III: Intermediate Scratching

Set yourself apart from other DJs and showcase your creativity by incorporating various tricks and techniques into your live performance sets. Level 3 will improve your timing and record control with intermediate Turntablism techniques, and teach you when & how to utilize scratch patterns in your live mixes.

You will learn:
  • Turntablism
  • Mixing techniques
  • Beatmatching & genre mixing
Level IV: Music Production

This course helps students understand the technical and creative process involved using the comprehensive digital audio workstation Ableton Suite. By the end of the course, each student will have created at least one or more re-edits.

You will learn:
  • Ableton Live Fundamentals
  • Beat Sampling and Usage

Level V: Advanced Mixing


This performance based class will develop your mixing skills through real world situations, group activities, and valuable peer and instructor feedback. Level 4 mixing will teach you to augment your performances with advanced mixing tricks and song transitions, and how to properly utilize features and functions in Digital DJing software.

You will learn:
  • Advanced Serato Techniques
  • Create, record and produce music
  • Performing your music

Level VI: Remix-Mastering Performance Mixing

Personalize your production style in Level 6. We’ll teach you to create sounds from the ground up – a great way to give your music a unique personality that stands out from the crowd. You’ll also learn some of the basic mixing and mastering functions which can utilize Ableton 9 Live Suite’s internal effects processors to help give your final tracks the additional sheen you’ll want before presenting them to the world.

You will learn how to:
  • Publish and distribute your music
  • Advanced Ableton Live features
  • Voice your own style through DJing

Level VII: The DJ Business


Once you’ve developed the skills to play out as a DJ or make tracks as a producer, this session will teach you how to build a presence in the industry by creating a brand, releasing mixes and tracks regularly, and positioning yourself to meet your goals.

You will learn:
  • Lock down your DJ name and what kind of DJ you want to be
  • How to market yourself
  • The nuts and bolts of starting your own business

Level VIII: Performance Mixing

Level 8 prepares you for real life DJing. You will complete weekly assignments that simulate a live setting with all the trouble shooting and unexpected turns that happen when DJing for a live audience. Learn how to market yourself as a desirable artist. From communicating with the client, to executing the event including master of ceremony duties and appropriate music programming.

You will learn:
  • What to do in an equipment malfunction
  • How to improvise your mix
  • Reading the crowd and recovery mode

Important Notes:
  • Part Time Program meets for 8 classes over 48 weeks

  • Schedule posted is for Level I only. 

  • Our Part Time Program meets once a week during evening or weekend hours. Once joining the Part Time program, students stay with the same day and time for all their Levels until completion of the Program.
  • The Part Time Program is 48 weeks in length which doesn’t include breaks between classes and holidays. The Part Time Program covers 92 hours of instruction and recommended 40 hours of lab time.

  • Students have the option to take off one term. If you plan on taking off more than one term, then a $500 re-entry fee is applied and an evaluation may need to occur in order to assess what Level you will re-enter into.

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy

LEVEL 1 CLASSES:

All Level One classes are subject to change or cancellation by Scratch DJ Academy. In the event that a course must be canceled by Scratch, all students in that course are eligible for a full refund. 

Any Intro or Level 1 cancellation is levied a $50 cancellation fee as well as $75 per class up until the 3rd class.  We are happy to refund the balance. No refunds are given once two class dates in the term have passed.


PART-TIME PROGRAM:

The Part-Time Program is non-refundable.


Part Time students are allowed one term off during their certification track. However, if a student takes more than one class term off, then a $500 reinstatement fee will be incurred and a mandatory evaluation of student to assess the correct level class upon re-entry. Students may have to retake a class at an additional fee.


ACCELERATED PROGRAM:

The Accelerated Program is non-refundable.

Map

Google Map

Scratch DJ Academy

All classes at this location

Start Dates (2)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD 48 $4,999
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Feb 16 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Feb 21 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Feb 23 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Feb 28 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Mar 02 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Mar 07 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Mar 09 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Mar 14 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Mar 16 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Mar 21 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Mar 23 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Mar 28 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Mar 30 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Apr 04 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Apr 06 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Apr 11 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Apr 13 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Apr 18 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Apr 20 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Apr 25 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Apr 27 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, May 02 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, May 04 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, May 09 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, May 11 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, May 16 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, May 18 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, May 23 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, May 25 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, May 30 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Jun 01 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Jun 06 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Jun 08 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Jun 13 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Jun 15 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Jun 20 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Jun 22 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Jun 27 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Jun 29 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Jul 04 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Jul 06 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Jul 11 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Jul 13 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Jul 18 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Jul 20 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Mon, Jul 25 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
Wed, Jul 27 7:30pm - 9:30pm Pacific Time TBD
5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD 48 $4,999
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Mar 31 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Apr 05 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Apr 07 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Apr 12 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Apr 14 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Apr 19 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Apr 21 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Apr 26 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Apr 28 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, May 03 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, May 05 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, May 10 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, May 12 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, May 17 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, May 19 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, May 24 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, May 26 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, May 31 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Jun 02 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Jun 07 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Jun 09 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Jun 14 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Jun 16 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Jun 21 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Jun 23 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Jun 28 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Jun 30 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Jul 05 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Jul 07 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Jul 12 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Jul 14 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Jul 19 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Jul 21 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Jul 26 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Jul 28 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Aug 02 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Aug 04 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Aug 09 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Aug 11 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Aug 16 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Aug 18 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Aug 23 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Aug 25 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Aug 30 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Sep 01 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Tue, Sep 06 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD
Thu, Sep 08 5:00pm - 7:00pm Pacific Time TBD

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 49990 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (0)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Reviews of Classes at Scratch DJ Academy (11)

Similar Classes

School: Scratch DJ Academy

Scratch DJ Academy

Scratch DJ Academy's mission is to provide education and access to the dynamic art form of the DJ and producer. Scratch lowers the barrier of entry to these crafts by providing access to amazing instructors, proven curriculum, state-of-the-art equipment, and scholarship opportunities. With over 15 course...

Read more about Scratch DJ Academy

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified LA educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Booking this class for a group? Find great private group events here